Shortlist announced for RAF welfare charity’s annual awards night

RAF Benevolent Fund

The RAF Benevolent Fund has announced the shortlisted nominees for its sixth annual awards. The winners of nine awards categories will be revealed at a special ceremony at London’s Gibson Hall, to be held on 7 June 2018.

Air Vice-Marshal David Murray, Chief Executive of the RAF Benevolent Fund, said: “The RAF Benevolent Fund simply could not carry out the vital work that we do, supporting the RAF Family, without the help of our incredible supporters. Each year it gets harder and harder to decide on the winners of these awards and that is a testament to the hard work, dedication and creativity with which our supporters contribute to the Fund and its work.

“Our annual awards ceremony allows the Fund the opportunity to showcase that support and also show our fundraisers how their time and donations make a difference to the lives of our beneficiaries, RAF personnel past and present.”

Some nominations were open to the public via the charity’s website and the shortlist was carefully chosen by a panel of expert judges.

Nominees (in no particular order) are:

Welfare Caseworker of the Year:  Frank Barrett – RAFA Lincoln, Peter McGraghan – RAFA Darlington Branch, Michael Raw – SSAFA Lincs

Airplay Youth Worker of the Year: Julia Purton – RAF Henlow, Ian Savage – RAF Marham, Hannah Wilson – RAF Digby

Air Training Corps Squadron of the Year: No 723 (Wigan) ATC Squadron, 870 (Dreghorn) ATC Squadron, 1927 (Petersfield) ATC Squadron

Above & Beyond: Corporal Jon Ward, Maria Gordon, Squadron Leader Ryan Morris

Fundraising Team of the Year: 612 (County of Aberdeen) ATC Squadron, Squadron Leader Simon Brewis, Team RAFBF Cosford

RAF Station of the Year: RAF Odiham, RAF Marham, MOD Abbey Wood

Outstanding Support from an Organisation: Edinburgh Lamborghini and Driving Scotland, RDG Bucks, The Worshipful Company of Bakers supported by the RAF Target Rifle Club

Corporate Fundraising Activity of the Year: Aston Martin Cambridge, KPMG, Midshires Mobility Group

RAF Stations Challenge Cup: MOD Abbey Wood, RAF Digby, Leuchars Station

Image: The 2017 RAFBF Award winners gather on stage at the RAF’s leading welfare charity’s fifth annual awards ceremony.

Back to news